fabric / Sewing

Tilly and the Buttons Skirt

title-real

I made this skirt months ago but, have been so busy wearing it I haven’t had a chance to blog about it!

I got Tilly and the Buttons‘ book Love at First Stitch free with a magazine subscription and really wanted to try something from it. The book is really well written, with lots of advice on making more of sewing and making it part of your lifestyle.

My favourite section though was the ideas to personalise the projects to ‘make it your own’, just simple suggestions like adding pockets or decorative stitching.

The only downside of the book (though it’s not even really that!) is that the designs are so Tilly. Tilly has such a distinctive style and it comes across in these patterns and, unfortunately, this style is not mine and doesn’t really suit me. So a lot of the patterns whilst very cute would look awful on my tall self!

The skirt I decided to make in the end was the super simple Clémence skirt- no pattern! I love making things where you can draw markings straight on to the fabric (as I did with this) you just need a couple of waist and hip measurements and away you go!

It’s a very simple pattern for a gathered skirt with invisible side zip and french seams.The french seams are a really nice touch to give it a really professional finish. I decided to use a big bold print as it’s the perfect style to show it off. I also had to have this giant hat box in my photos!side-skirt

P1010851

title

This is the perfect skirt for summer and you could make it with some heavier fabrics for winter. Another lovely book for my collection, I love sewing and knitting books! Often before going to sleep I’ll grab a pile of my crafty books and just browse aimlessly through them before I go to sleep- I find it so calming! A bit crazy I know!

Have you bought any good craft books recently? Or do you have any all time favourites you’d recommend?

Signature-2

3 thoughts on “Tilly and the Buttons Skirt

  1. Where did you get the gorgeous fabric from? My love of craft books started when I was about 10 and my Mum gave me a soft toy book which I still have, I’ve been hooked ever since!
    Your skirt is fantastic, can you imagine how much it would cost to buy?

  2. Pingback: 2014 craft review | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

