Sewing

Love Sewing Review

Love Sewing Magazine #1 Review

2014-05-07 18.21.23

After reading about this magazine on Very Berry Handmade, I actually went out that week and bought a copy!

I buy knitting magazines a lot but don’t actually buy sewing magazines very often as I’m often a bit disappointed with them and find the projects pretty but not something I’d ever make.

Now I don’t want to skip to the end and give away how this story ends but, I’ve already set up a subscription to this magazine! I only had one subscription previously, to Mollie Makes, which I have now decided to cancel. The main reason I don’t subscribe to magazines is that I often get bored of them, the gifts and features become formulaic and predictable, and as is the case with Mollie Makes I barely glance at the free gift in the end- putting it straight in a bag for the charity shop.

As this is their first issue Love Sewing might be trying to make a good impression but, hopefully they’ll keep it up as issue #1 is absolutely fantastic. You can tell it’s a magazine written by people who actually know and care about sewing and what sewists (sew enthusiasts) want. As well as paper patterns in a pull out section and a full download pattern for a dress, issue # 1 also includes a fat quarter of Kirstie Allsop’s new range of fabrics for Hobbycraft and a book of Liberty sewing tutorials.2014-05-07 18.22.32

At £5.99 the magazine is perhaps a little more expensive than standard, but it is fully justifiable with the amount of patterns and tutorials you get in the magazine. You also get a copy of Love at First Stitch (Sewing Bee’s Tilly and the Buttons’ first book) when you subscribe! It was lovely to see tutorials from Very Berry Handmade in print-they alone made the magazine worth it for me!

You can find out more about about Love Sewing and subscribe here.

I am very excited to see what the next issue holds. What are your favourite magazines? I would love to discover some more new ones.

2 thoughts on “Love Sewing Review

  1. Pingback: Reversible Loop Scarf | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

