Crochet / knitting

Cowl versus scarf

The temperature is starting to drop (it’s been a very mild winter so far in England) and I’m very glad I’ve got my new cowl to keep me warm! I made a cowl last year, which used a button to fasten so you could adapt how you wore it, which I wore all winter. This is a full on, endless circle, cowl and I have to say it’s my new favourite and it’s going to be hard going back to scarves now!title

I used Debbie Bliss Andes, which is luxuriously soft and warm and really made the pattern, you wouldn’t want anything that’s rough wrapped right around your neck. You can find the pattern free on Ravelry, the overall finished cowl is fantastic, but there were a few teething problems with the pattern to start with.

It uses a brioche stitch (though calls it a fisherman’s rib), I looked up a video of this on youtube eventually to find out how to work it as I struggled with the pattern. I made the largest size but ran out of wool and it’s a bit wider than it really needs to be, so I think you would be better doing the medium size.

side

You knit the cowl flat as a scarf first and then crochet the two ends together which is  a really nice touch, though as I ran out of wool the crochet band is a bit shorter on mine than it should be.

close-up

It’s a great cowl though, no more scarf unraveling in the wind! And it’s a perfect fit around my neck to keep me warm. I think cowl’s may be the future of scarves!

on-me

 

Now I’m ready for the really cold weather to set in!Signature-2

One thought on “Cowl versus scarf

  1. Pingback: Black Infinity Crochet Wool Cowl Scarf with by strawberrycouture | StrawberryCouture Hats

Leave a Reply

