Christmas / Crochet

Christmas Crochet Reindeer (and a giveaway)

title

Well it’s officially the countdown to Christmas and I’ve got my first handmade Christmas decoration complete- this very cute amigurumi crochet reindeer (and if you read on I’ve also got a giveaway for you to make one yourself). I feel like I’m getting off to a good start though at the same time I also feel like I’ve fallen behind already with all my plans! I’ve got out all my trusty handmade Christmas decorations from last year, including my gorgeous handmade Christmas duvet cover that features in the background of these photos.

side

This is Dora, unfortunately she has a bit of a cold at the moment, hence the very red nose, so any likeness with a certain you-know-who is purely coincedental.

She’s also not great at standing up as I didn’t have pipe cleaners for her legs, though I have to say the tray of mince pies she ate last night didn’t help either.

close-up

This is my first try at amigurumi and it’s a really great way to make quick toys, and it’s effectively seamless so minimal sewing up required!

Dora is from the Mollie Makes Christmas book, and it’s one of my favourite type of books as it has a little bit of everything in, knitting, sewing, crochet, papercraft.

It’s no secret that I love all things Mollie Makes and receive their magazine every month, so this is probably why last year I was gifted two copies of this lovely book! Some of my favourite projects include heirloom stockings, cute ipad cosy cases and simple paper Christmas trees, with lots and lots of pages of inspiration.

page-3

page-2

page 1book-shot

So I thought it would be nice to offer the spare copy to one of my lovely (and patient) readers, so if you’d like a chance to have this book, please comment below, I’d love to hear what handmade Christmas plans you have. And if you want some extra chances to win, please follow my blog, re-blog, share on pinterest, – share any way this modern technical world lets you, and just let me know in your comment.

I’ll randomly pick someone on Saturday 7th December at 8pm GMT and post out first class to the winner if they’re in the UK, to be sure you get it in plenty of time to start crafting. International entries are welcome, you might just want to bear in mind shipping times as you might not get it before Christmas. (Addition: make sure you leave me a way to contact you or check back on the Sunday to see who the winner is!)

Good Luck!
Signature-2p.s Can you see my blog snowing??!!

6 thoughts on “Christmas Crochet Reindeer (and a giveaway)

  1. I have been knitting away on my list of Christmas gifts. I’ve got a few hats, a shawl, and a few pairs of socks done. It seems a bit endless, but I think I’m finally starting to make a dent in the list of Christmas knitting!

  2. I am really tempted to stay up all night and knit imagine what fun that would be if I was with my lovely Natalie or my sister. Is that a tad crazy? So many plans.

  3. Giggling at the last comment!
    What a lovely post and I saw snow too! I imagine your house to be very festive with hand made goodies everywhere. When it gets to Christmas day will you be resting with your feet up and some choccies…or will you be knitting?
    Will you make the Christmas tree as I quite like the look of that?

  4. Pingback: A look at 2013 | craft my escape

  5. Pingback: Christmas Ideas | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

