fabric / Sewing

How to accept a compliment

Finally back from a glorious holiday in the sun, it’s time to  start doing some work!

Top travel knitting tip!

If you’re planning on knitting on a plane work from the centre of your ball of wool so it doesn’t roll about so much!

This post is long over due as I made this dress at least a month ago and couldn’t wait to share it. Unfortunately my camera charger remained annoyingly allusive and I didn’t wan’t to rush it with bad quality photos off my phone.

Because I LOVE this dress, I wear it as much as I can!

I was really keen to try shirring as a super easy way to A. avoid inserting fastenings like zips and B. get a perfect fit as its elasticed.

I looked on Google for patterns and came across this super simple one, and voila one simply shirred summer dress! I used The Most Flattering Shirt Dress pattern from Pretty Prudent.

DSCF2297

Now shirring was not without it’s little dramas and is the finished dress a shining example of expert tailoring? It is not, but it’s fun and easy and I feel great wearing something of mine I made.

DSCF2299

I wore it to work not long after I made it (possibly a little too casual but I was fully prepared to bring out the but I made it myself excuse if my boss asked)- and straight away a couple of people complimented me on my dress!

Some knew I’d made it and some didn’t however, my first instinct was to point out it’s faults- in the style of this old thing? why do we always feel the need to do that?

So I made a definite decision when people said they liked the dress I would say thank you and try not to beam like an idiot too much with the happiest smile on my face.

And do you know what, I’m not even going to share what the faults are with you! This one’s for enjoying, I feel good in it and who cares if it could have done with a bit of… almost got me, I’m not telling.

DSCF2311

I will however share some advice:

  • Practise shirring on a scrap piece of fabric before attempting the dress to make sure you know how your machine works, obviously this sounds like common sense but when I went to add the shirring I just assumed my machine would magically work out what to do. It did not. I had lots of lines of elastic sewn flat into the biggest widest dress in the world (for some reason I thought if I just kept going it would sort itself out!) In the end for my Husqvarna Opal I selected straight stitch on almost the longest stitch and left the tension as it was (this was what worked best for my lightweight jersey).
  • I would also advise caution when cutting that front neckline, cut cautiously then hold up against you, as it’s fairly loose fitting a modest neckline goes a long way!
  • I loved putting in the bias binding but you have to be careful not to stretch the fabric as you put it in so you don’t loose the shape, it’s also worth noting that you can put bias binding in two ways so you do or don’t see it, I bought lovely navy binding thinking that would compliment the fabric and was a little disappointed when I realised you couldn’t actually see it!

DSCF2317

I loved this dress so much I actually started to draft out a paper pattern I can keep to make another one (which I’ve started as well!).

The animals didn’t quite share my enthusiasm for the dress and were more interested in the passing lizard…

DSCF2301

The nights are already starting to draw in and the summer is slipping away! Well at least we can start looking at winter projects now!

5 thoughts on “How to accept a compliment

  1. Pingback: A life long commitment to knitting | craft my escape

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May week 2/3 | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

