fabric / Quilting / Sewing

My Kindle Keeper

kindle-titleI’ve been working on a gift for someone, and I’m fairly sure they don’t read my blog, so I want to go ahead and share it already!

kindle-collage

I’m so pleased with it!

I’ve wanted to try out the Kindle Keeper pattern for a while as something a bit more exciting to carry your Kindle or tablet around in. The pattern was nice and easy to follow, I wasn’t 100% sure of the size as the pattern used quite heavy weight fabrics and I don’t think it mentioned which version of the Kindle it was for. Fortunately it worked out ok, I cut the measurements they gave and then ‘tried’ it on before sewing the main piece together, it was a little big so I just sewed the seams bigger than I normally would to take in the excess and then trimmed them back down to a normal size.

The rounded corners give it a nice soft touch and I was going to add Velcro but then found some ribbon that seemed just the perfect colour.

kinde-filler

Which leads me to the fabrics- choosing these was probably the funnest part of the whole gift! I bought them from my ever favourite Village Haberdashery and they are all from the same Yay Day Collection. I decided covering the fabric in vinyl wasn’t really necessary, I treasure my kindle so I’m sure it would never end up somewhere that dirty! I added some stripe patterning on the front though for a bit of decoration and as it brought to mind book pages for me.

kindle-inside

The colours are almost burnt summer verging on autumunal but that’s ok as that’s when the gift is for! (I am organized!)

kindle-back

I’m hoping to get a tablet soon and really want to make another of these for myself, it is with great reluctance I will give this away! (Have you noticed how much I refer to the kindle cover as if it’s mine in this blog?!)

Kindle-N-Made

One thought on “My Kindle Keeper

  1. Pingback: Handmade Christmas gifts | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

