fabric / Quilting / Sewing

Dear Dresden

DSCF1321

Small Lavender Pillows with Liberty Print Fabrics.

I think my previous post on my first quilt has got me in the mood for quilting techniques and mixing fabric prints as there seemed like only one thing to do with my lovely liberty fabrics (from the lovely Very Berry Handmade) make Dresden plate patterns onto lavender pillows!

I’ve loved the dresden plate design ever since seeing it on Cherry Hearts blog as placemats (which I still wants to do sometime) and once I had all my liberty print fabrics assembled I just wanted to play around putting the different prints together.

I didn’t use a template for the wedges so I’m very lucky they actually all fitted together!

DSCF1305

DSCF1316

I also left a very small gap to turn them through forgetting I needed to put lavender as well as stuffing in, so that was quite a slow (but beautiful smelling!) process. The dried lavender is from the Lavender Fields, a lovely lavender shop around the corner from me, they make lavender chocolate and jam and all sorts!

DSCF1314

The prints are so nice that I made some pillows as just one fabric, they only problem now is that I’m a bit reluctant to put them away in drawers, though they will put a smile on my face every time I open them.

DSCF1329

I definitely want to try  a bigger Dresden plate on a quilt, I’m going to start looking around for fabric and pattern ideas. But for now I have a couple of other projects I need to focus on, Happy Sunday Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Dear Dresden

  1. I’ve never done this, it looks so pretty. Lavender is my favourite scent, relaxing and calming. Bet those cushions are lovely to have in underwear drawers and dotted about a bedroom.

  2. Pingback: Handmade Christmas gifts | craft my escape

  3. Pingback: A look at 2013 | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

