fabric / patchwork / Quilting / Sewing

Quilting on the curve

DSCF1232

The time has finally arrived! My first ever quilt is finished! I’ve wanted to make a quilt for a while, but found all the square or rectangle patterns I looked at a bit old-fashioned. Then I came across a pattern for an apple core quilt in a magazine and knew it would be perfect.

All the fabric I used (except the backing) are fat quarters from The Knitting and Stitching Show, several from the wonderful Village Haberdashery.

DSCF1221

The main problem I found was as the pattern I was following was essentially just an advert for a machine that can cut the shapes for you really easily it didn’t actually give much guidance about sewing it. I struggled with the binding and after I’d finished I looked up methods of attaching binding on-line (yes obviously this would have been a better thing to do before I did my binding!) and there were lots of things the pattern hadn’t mentioned, cutting the binding on the bias, joining the strips with a diagonal,  NOT ending at corners (all of mine do), when you quilt through all the layers finally do you match your thread to the top fabric or bottom? Are all these things important? I made my own decision as best as I could. Feel free to weigh in.

DSCF1226 DSCF1255

Obviously as my first quilting attempt it probably would have been simpler to go for squares or a simple shape to join together, joning a concave and convex curve is no simple feat! But most of my 4 points match up (and no-one but me will ever notice the ones that don’t!).

DSCF1247DSCF1216

I love the fabric choices so much (without that sounding too arrogant!)) as they just seem to complement each other perfectly. The mermaid is probably my favourite (from the amazing Village Haberdashery) but the girls playing with dolls are a close second- especially that bunny in the pram!

DSCF1235 DSCF1236 DSCF1237 DSCF1238

It’s not a huge quilt (I’m not completely deluded in terms of what I can’t achieve on a first attempt!) And is just a bit over a metre square. Perfect for my small sofa.

DSCF1256  DSCF1243

Oh look where did those milk tray come from? Well as I have done quite a lot of sewing today…

7 thoughts on “Quilting on the curve

  1. A well earned box of Milk Tray there! I can see the quilt will look stunning on your sofa and your first attempt…are you sure? It’s amazing!

  2. Pingback: Dear Dresden | craft my escape

  3. Pingback: Another Knitting and Stitching Weekend | craft my escape

  4. Pingback: A look at 2013 | craft my escape

Leave a Reply

