Crochet / Uncategorized

Charity Knitting

I’ve been trying to decide how I want to shape my blog and what I’d like to do with it. And whilst knitting my blanket I had an idea, I have so many bits of leftover wool that aren’t enough for any projects that Knit-a-square is perfect. I’ve wanted to find a charity knitting project I can help with for a while and by putting it on my blog maybe I can get a few other people to join in and help out too.

This video:  Knit-a-square  gives you a great glimpse of what they’re doing.

It’s very simple as all you have to do is knit 20x 20 cm squares ( 8×8″) and they can be as simple or complicated as you like and then you post them to South Africa (they recommend three squares pressed flat will fit as an international letter) where people sew them up into blankets for children.

With the help of the book 200 crochet blocks for blankets, throws and afghans by Jan Eaton, I’ve also used it as a chance to try some new crochet squares out.

So if you’ve stumbled across this blog (somehow!), it would be great if you could do a couple of squares, everyone always has left over wool and they take no time at all!Let me know if you do- or if there are any other projects you already support!

All the details are on http://www.knit-a-square.com/.

4 thoughts on “Charity Knitting

  1. Pingback: Charity Knitting- British Legion Poppies « craft my escape

Leave a Reply

